Summer Movies Update #1 and #2

In my first post I listed my top five most anticipated movies of Summer 2011.  Unfortunately so far, the two that have been released have been mediocre to say the least. 

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides was the first to come out, and while I had high hopes for this movie to possibly be good, I can honestly admit that I could not have been more wrong.  While not necessarily horrible, I can’t remember a single line from the movie, and if you asked me to describe the plot to you I would say, “Jack Sparrow and Penelope Cruz argue a lot on a pirate ship.”  Thats all I can remember from the story.  What I do remember is how much a waste of ten dollars this movie was.  I would have rather seen Thor a third time. 

I actually never saw The Hangover: Part 2, but I have heard from enough people that have to understand that it is average at best.  Certainly not worthy of being in a top 5 list that has been given the Dan stamp of approval.  My apologies both of my readers. 

The good news is that my other three films on the list look to be promising.  Harry Potter will obviously be amazing if it is anywhere as good as Part I, and Marvel hasn’t made a bad movie in a long time so I still have my hopes up for Captain America.  Meanwhile, Cowboys and Aliens is too awesome of a premise not to be good.  Stay tuned for my updates on the other three movies.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Summer Movies Update #1 and #2

  1. Joe

    X-Men Origins: Wolverine is not a good movie. So I negate your comment about Marvel not making a bad movie in a long time.

    And, really, most Marvel movies are trash. Ghost Rider, Fantastic Four and its sequel, Spider-Man 3, The Punisher and Punisher: Warzone, Daredevil, Blade 2 and 3. I’d also include Howard the Duck but it’s gone full circle and is so awful it’s fun.

    I’m still a sucker for them and I’ll still see pretty much any comic book movie. Same with Star Wars. It could be Darth Vader standing in front of a white background for two hours and I’d see it three times.

Leave a Reply

